2012 Self-Reflections

This was quite a year of self-discovery and major changes for me personally. I found writing again, which has been an amazing support in my willingness to be more open with others. I haven’t always allowed people into my world, in order to protect my family and myself from the judgement of others. I struggled with who I was this year and how I fit into this family. As a woman, I am a strong and bull-headed individual, but what is my role in our family unit? I struggled a bit with letting go of some old demons, and allowing people to not affect me as an individual. 37 years with myself, 16 in a marriage and 7 with kids – will sometimes make you pause and say – HEY! Self-check – how are you doing at this life thing?

However, the greatest lesson I learned this year was to, as Oprah would say, “Do Me” – and let everyone else do whatever it is they do, because they really don’t matter. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve learned to accept that people change in marriage, in friendship, in family, in all relationships. We are all equal, and boiled down to the core we are all flawed humans, just trying to bumper car through life. Change, which I have never been a fan of, is a good thing not a bad thing. It allows us to evolve and move forward with discovering who we are and how we fit into this world and our own life. It’s for the good, the bad and sometimes for the indifferent.

I personally had a great year trying to cross things off my Bucket list. I spent a ton of time with my SIL doing Seattle Touristy stuff, which amazingly makes me appreciate where I live more and what it has to offer. My husband and I took the kids to Mt. Rainier and Woodland Park Zoo, two things I’d been wanting to do for years and they all loved it. And while I have never been a fan of the weather here, I’ve grown to love WA more this year than ever before; for all the amazing things it has to offer. I can’t wait to tackle a few more trips on my WA Bucket List, and look forward to sharing them with everyone. We really should appreciate where we live.

My greatest lesson this year is this: I am who I am, and I will do as I do. I am driven, unapologetically protective, sensitive, caring, love travel, love adventure, love my family with my whole self and want more than anything to be a contributing and successful member of my family and society. Helping to educate our children and being their mother is my greatest joy, getting my family to participate in sharing my wild harebrained adventures is my Zen.

This year I didn’t set resolutions, I only had one path in mind: Be a better person as a whole. Be a person who has greater inner peace, compassion and understanding. Be a person who strives to see change where others can not. My mantra this year is “Do Small Things with Great Love” because that, in it’s simplicity – really defines who I have been and who I am as a person.

Hope you have an amazing 2013, Thanks for reading and hanging with me and my crazy family this year. Looking forward to the next year and all it has to bring.

Namaste.

Leave a Reply

