Monday Listicles – Movie Madness

Waking up this morning, I knew I wanted to keep my committment of trying to write a couple of times a week, but was stuck on what to write. Then I remembered I’ve seen Monday Listicles! Stasha over at Northwestmommy.com provided a great writing challenge for this year, with varying ideas for “Monday Listicles.” Today’s Topic – Favorite Movies, spurred on by the Golden Globes last night, which were so amazing. I was so happy to see Ben Affleck win for Argo, along with Claire Danes for Homeland- and thought it so sweet of Jennifer Garner (his wife) to come up and during her presenter bit mention a few important people he’d forgotten when he won. (I’m sure it was rather humbling for him, and Clooney might not let him live it down! lol!)

So here is my Monday Listicle of favorite movies and/or series of movies:

1. Sixteen Candles “Brenda Baker: Her monthly bill came early. Well, she’s fine, she just took a muscle relaxer. Ginny: Try *four*.”

2. Pretty In Pink “Andie: I just want them to know that they didn’t break me.”

3. The Family Stone “Ben Stone: [to Meredith] You have a freak flag. You just don’t fly it.”

4. Breakfast at Tiffany’s “Holly Golightly: It should take you exactly four seconds to cross from here to that door. I’ll give you two.”

5. Se7en “David Mills: You’re no messiah. You’re a movie of the week. You’re a fucking t-shirt, at best.”

6. Contact “Young Ellie: Dad, do you think there’s people on other planets? Ted Arroway: I don’t know, Sparks. But I guess I’d say if it is just us… seems like an awful waste of space.”

7. The Green Mile “John Coffey: People hurt the ones they love. That’s how it is all around the world.”

8. Schindler’s List “Itzhak Stern: It’s Hebrew, it’s from the Talmud. It says, “Whoever saves one life, saves the world entire.”

9. The King’s Speech “Lionel Logue: He could really be great
[referring to the Duke of York]
Lionel Logue: .
Myrtle Logue: Perhaps he doesn’t want to be great. Perhaps that’s what you want”

10. Inception “Cobb: What is the most resilient parasite? Bacteria? A virus? An intestinal worm? An idea. Resilient… highly contagious. Once an idea has taken hold of the brain it’s almost impossible to eradicate. An idea that is fully formed – fully understood – that sticks; right in there somewhere.”

11. Almost Famous “William Miller: When and where does this “real world” occur?”

Series:

1. The Twilight Series

2. Star Wars Series

3. GodFather Series

4. The Matrix Series

5. The Jason Bourne Series

I realize in looking up movies, I saw other movies I meant to see and never got a chance to like The Pianist and Citizen Kane. There are also those movies I’ve seen snippets of but just can’t bring myself to watch the whole thing like The Shinning and Straw Dogs for whatever reason they just spook me.

Here’s Stasha’s next challenge, hope I’m up to it! http://www.northwestmommy.com/category/monday-listicles

Happy Monday!!

**Disclaimer: Quotes courtesy of IMDB Data base.**

Leave a Reply

