Secret Happiness

IMG_2080

I was cracking up last week reading everybody’s Oh No You Didn’t Valentine’s Day Gifts.  Some of them were so funny or foreign to me; I couldn’t believe people would actually give them as gifts, but it happens!

This week is fun too. Yesterday, 2/17 was Random Act of Kindness Day (#RAOK). This week’s Listicles kind of follows that same theme: 10 tiny (or secret) things that bring you joy. It took me awhile to narrow my list down, as I realized – selfishly – there are quite a few small things that bring me joy!

1.) E n K’s uninhibited, gut busting laughter; E is so serious all the time that when she laughs a big belly laugh it is so heart warming.

2.) K’s singing – even though she does it every second of the day, and sometimes I pray for quiet – it brings me joy to know that she is so uninhibited in her love of music.

3.) When the perfect song comes on the radio, singing in my car (while hopefully no one is watching because I can’t carry a tune!).

4.) Waking up to warmth and sunshine.

5.) All the laundry being done, and the house being cleaned.

6.) My hubs making the bed for no random reason.

7.) Cards, letters or phone calls just because.

8.) Doing a #RAOK

9.) Shopping for gifts for other people. I love giving gifts – Christmas is THE best holiday EVER – for selfish reasons I get joy out of watching people open presents I’ve given them 🙂

10.) Cooking or baking something delicious brings me great joy and peace. I think because I refuse to follow a recipe I’m always surprised when it actually works out (most of the time!).

“If you surrender completely to the moment as they pass, you live more richly those moments.” ~ Anne Morrow Lindbergh

What brings you joy?

7 thoughts on “Secret Happiness

  1. I can’t even imagine the joy that having all of the laundry done and the house clean would bring. 🙂 Ellen

Leave a Reply

