Review Bruno Mars Unorthodox Jukebox

New to me, Bruno Mars has been on the scene for quite a while. Unorthodox Jukebox is a sophomore album and proves to make a believer out of this household. Debuting at No. 2 on the Billboard 200, the album hit No. 1 in Switzerland and the UK – becoming the fastest selling album by a recording artist in 2012. This is not surprise, as in this album Mr. Mars probably says a lot of things men wish they could brazenly say to their partners.

The set list runs a little like a man who’s been in deep love, has a bit of an addiction to women and jilted by a few lovers as well. Leading the way with club favorite Locked Out of Heaven, and following up with what seems like a plea from a dude who has finally realized he’s got the real deal on the physical and emotional front – When I was Your Man has been running at 11 weeks on the Top 100, holding at No.3 for the last two weeks. Treasure comes in with a nice 70’s smooth groove reminding me a little in the chorus of the Jackson 5, it’s one of my favorites – it’s a suave love song without being foolish. I’m hoping this will be the next single released; it could be a nice addition to the other two. Money Make Her Smile has a great technical dance feel to it. Although, my true favorite is Show Me, it reminds me of all our island vacations. Island music puts you in a different tranquil state of mind that’s difficult to find with some US music. Ending with If I Knew seems to put him back in his comfort zone, with a little doo-wop and electric guitar.

Listening to this CD is like listening to what could be some of the potential songs on the Fifty Shades of Grey soundtrack. With primal lyrics like “life’s not so bad when you’re up this high”, “in this jungle you can’t run”, “got a fist full of your hair”, “your sex takes me to paradise” and “I wouldn’t have done all the things I’ve done, if I’d knew one day you’d come” it sure resonates a man hardened by life circumstances succumbing to a future of hope by a woman’s physical and ultimately emotional love.  Sound familiar? The two pairings could be interesting….

This CD is an eclectic and incredible litany of smooth music and lustful lyrics, it’s not for the prudish or weak, but I strongly suggest adding it to your collection with an open mind. Prepare to enjoy!

*******I have not received compensation in any form for this review. These opinions are my own. Statistics come from Billboards website, www.billboard.com.  More on Bruno Mars can be found on his website, http://www.brunomars.com.*********

Leave a Reply

