10 Chapters in My Crazy, Bumpy, Messy, Endering and Incredible Life

Well this is a rather on point Listicle this week. Perfect for getting back to writing. I’ve been doing a lot of soul-searching the last two years, I think part of it is because I am approaching that mile marker of 40. When I was a kid I had set all these goals for 40, so that after 40 I could start new goals. So here’s this week’s listicle, 10 Chapters In My Life…

1.) Grandma’s Girl.  This would certainly sum up from birth to 13 when my Gram passed away. She was my rock, and quite an amazing, proper, formal and in her own way funny lady. (Emphasis on the word lady.)

2.) Traveling the Beltway. Thinking of the years of 13 through the beginning semesters of my freshman year at Ole Miss. They were fraught with family tension, parental alcoholism, struggles for independence and trying to understand trust and friendship.

3.) An Uncomfortable Personal Paradigm. Struggling to separate, defy and overcome the last 8 years, while facing my own addiction demons.

4.) Dating Dos and Don’ts. (Self Explanatory – whew, I can pick ’em!! LMAO!!)

5.) Meeting Zen. This would be my early to mid 20s when I met not only my Best Friend, who is now my sister-in-law, but at the time my soon to be partner (who 12 years later became my husband). These two people not only changed my life, but accepted me for who I am, not who they wanted me to be. Acceptance is the first step in healing. (I have the tattoo to prove it. :))

6.). Doing It Backwards: Pregnancy, Marriage and In Laws . All I have to say on this chapter is we’ve all been there, done that and have our own embarrassing, funny, sad and eye-opening stories to share!

7.) My Loves. All about our beautiful twin girls and how they taught me the meaning of true and untainted love.

8.) A Kaleidoscope of Self. A view through personal history to understand who I am and where I stand in the world. Learning gratitude and love all over again.

9.) Consenting. Laughing out loud, enjoying life and taking in the light and the dark of life equally.

10.) On The Corner of 39 and 40.  What’s next?

Whew! That was fun, you know how they have the saying “Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well-preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming — WOW– What a Ride!” That’s me, I just keep changing the ride, Can’t wait to see what 40 has to hold. 🙂

What are your 10 Chapters?

Namaste.

5 thoughts on “10 Chapters in My Crazy, Bumpy, Messy, Endering and Incredible Life

  1. Great list – stopping by a little late from Monday Listicles.

    I especially like the chapter title of “A Kaleidoscope of Self” – what a beautiful, reflective way to address this part of your life.

  2. I’ve had scattered thoughts about my chapters but have never written them down. Something to do for sure. I love that your best friend became your sister in law. How amazing is that!

    • Thank you for your comment. I am so luck to have her as a sister and a best friend. She is truly my rock! Can’t wait to read your blogs, take care!

Leave a Reply

